26 Nights of Camping

We are now 75 days out from the first day of summer, which began on June 21. Of those 75 summer nights, I spent 26 nights and 34 days total out camping on state and national forests. Nights that are starred it rained at least part of the day or night. It’s been a very wet and cold summer, but at least I got to see a lot of good country.

nycmap $id

Trip 1: Burnt-Rossman Hills State Forest. Hiked Vromans Nose, got fresh strawberries at Borhinger’s Farm Stand, swam at Mine Kill State Park.

1) Saturday, June 24 – Upper Betty Brook Campsite, Burnt-Rossman Hills State Forest, Summit, NY

nycmap $id

Trip 2: Independence Day Weekend at Moose River Plains. Hiked back to Cascade Falls in Eagle Bay, paddled on the Cedar River Flow.

2) Friday, June 30 – Campsite 67, Moose River Plains, Inlet, NY *
3) Saturday, July 1 – Campsite 67, Moose River Plains, Inlet, NY *
4) Sunday, July 2 – Campsite 67, Moose River Plains, Inlet, NY
5) Monday, July 3 – Campsite 67, Moose River Plains, Inlet, NY

nycmap $id

Trip 3: West River Road outside of Wells near the former “White House” camp. Hiked around “White House”, paddled the Main Branch of the Sacanadaga River on Auger Flats, above Auger Falls, swam at Wells Beach

6) Friday, July 14 – West River Road, Wells, NY
7) Saturday, July 15 – West River Road, Wells, NY

nycmap $id

Trip 4: Finger Lakes, visited several parks in the Finger Lakes, Montezuma Wildlife Refuge, Paddled and fished Lamoka Lake, climbed Sugar Hill Firetower.

8) Friday, July 21 – Cherry Ridge Camping Area, Charles Baker State Forest, Brookfield, NY
9) Saturday, July 22 – Mathews Road, Finger Lakes National Forest, Hector, NY *
10) Sunday, July 23 – Mathews Road, Finger Lakes National Forest, Hector, NY *
11) Monday, July 24 – Chicken Coop Road, Finger Lakes National Forest, Hector, NY *
12) Tuesday, July 25 – Chicken Coop Road, Finger Lakes National Forest, Hector, NY *
13) Wednesday, July 26 – Chicken Coop Road, Finger Lakes National Forest, Hector, NY *
14) Thursday, July 27 – Chicken Coop Road, Finger Lakes National Forest, Hector, NY *
15) Friday, July 28 – Chicken Coop Road, Finger Lakes National Forest, Hector, NY *
16) Saturday, July 29 – Chicken Coop Road, Finger Lakes National Forest, Hector, NY

nycmap $id

Trip 5: Burnt-Rossman Hills State Forest. Fished the Schoharie Creek, swam at Mine Kill State Park.

17) Saturday, August 5 – West Kill Road, Burnt-Rossman Hill State Forest, Blenheim, NY

nycmap $id

Trip 6: Partial Eclipse Viewing trip at Presque Isle State Park in Erie, Penna. Camped at Allegheny National Forest, visited Taughannock Viaduct, French Azulm Historic Site, Colton Point State Park, then went back to Watkins Glen in the Finger Lakes.

18) Saturday, August 19 – Asaph Run Camping Area, Wellsboro, PA *
19) Sunday, August 20 – Forest Road 160, Allegheny National Forest, PA *
20) Monday, August 21 – Forest Road 160, Allegheny National Forest, PA *
21) Tuesday, August 22 – Chicken Coop Road, Finger Lakes National Forest, Hector, NY *

nycmap $id

Trip 7: Weekend trip to Piseco-Powley Road. Hiked back to Spectacle Lake, Good Luck Lake, and Good Luck Cliffs from NY 10. Drove the length of Piseco-Powley Road. Hiked from Piseco-Powley Road along Edick Road Extension, explored the well hidden Edick Road Campsite 1.

22) Friday, August 25 – Piseco-Powley Road, Stratford, NY
23) Saturday, August 26 – Piseco-Powley Road, Stratford, NY

nycmap $id

Trip 8: Labor Day Weekend at Branch Pond Road in Kelly Stand, VT. Hiked back to Bourne Pond from Branch Pond. Poured on September 3rd.

24) Friday, September 1 – Branch Pond Road, Kelly Stand, VT
25) Saturday, September 2 – Branch Pond Road, Kelly Stand, VT
26) Sunday, September 3 – Branch Pond Road, Kelly Stand, VT *

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *